Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeTollakson Outstanding Club
Background Image URL //

Far West Tollakson Outstanding Club Award...

In 1995, the Outstanding Club Award was named in honor of Dave Tollakson.

In an effort to recognize the recreational skier, FWSA awarded the first outstanding ski club in 1963. The criteria used then was based on the percentage of members who belonged to FWSA, amount of money donated to FWSA, number of members holding FWSA offices, and number of members passing the Uniform Ski Test.

2015 saw a realignment of the classifications. The classes are based on experience rather than size. For the first year, first place finishers from the past 4 years are in the Masters Class. Second and third place finishers from the past 4 years are in the Advanced Class Novice Class is for those who are new or has not placed in the past 4 years.

In 2024, the Tollakson Award criteria has been simplified and the submission process is streamlined.  The new submission process requires only numerical or yes/no answers - no essays. The award is presented to an outstanding club based on club activity, member participation in racing, membership growth, communication frequency, contributions to the community, volunteerism and leadership, delegate attendance at FWSA Convention, and member participation in FWSA travel.  

The link to nominate a club is Surveys - Far West Ski Association (

And the overall Tollakson Outstanding Club is...

Year Club Council
2024 Phoenix Ski Club Arizona Ski Council

 The overall Tollakson Outstanding Club Finalists are...

Year Club Finalist Club Finalist Club Finalist

Phoenix Ski Club
Modesto Ski Club
Bay Area
Bogus Basin Ski Club
Century City Ski Club
Los Angeles
Altair Ski & Sports Club
Snowbusters Ski Club
NBS Western Region
  Action Ski & Sports Club
San Diego
Reno Ski & Rec Club

Year Masters Advanced Novice
2023 No Award No Award No Award  
No Award
No Award No Award   
2021 No Award
No Award
No Award  
2020 No Award No Award No Award  
No Award
No Award
Long Beach
2018 No Award No Award No Award
2017 Reno Ski & Recreation No Award No Award
2016 Pacific Rim No Award No Award
2015 Pacific Rim Idaho Falls No Award
Class A Class AA Class AAA
Class AAAA
2014 Snowchasers Fresno Mountain High
2013 No Award Pacific Rim Reno
2012 Pacific Rim North Island Snowdrifters Mountain High
2011 Pacific Rim Fresno No Award
2010 No Award North Island Snowdrifters Mountain High
2009 No Award No Award North Island Bergfreunde
2008 No Award No Award Mountain High Après
2007 Unrecables Don Diego Mountain High Conejo
2006 Unrecables
Mountain High Pacific Rim North Island
2005 No Award Mountain High Pacific Rim Bergfreunde
2004 No Award No Award No Award Après
2003 No Award No Award No Award Après
2002 Bota Baggers Single Bergfreunde
2001 No Award North Island Snowdrifters Bergfreunde
2000 Skiyente Single Bergfreunde
1999 Rusty Bindings Century City Bergfreunde
1998 Skiyente Single Bergfreunde
1997 Bota Baggers Century City Après
1996 Tri Valley Century City Bergfreunde
1995 Inskiers Century City Après
1994 Inskiers Single Balboa
1993 Inskiers Century City Balboa
1992 Rusty Bindings Snowchasers Balboa
1991 Snowchasers No Award Balboa
1990 Snow Drifters Single Balboa
1989 Inskiers Single Balboa
1988 Irvine Ski Assoc. Single Balboa
1987 Inskiers Snowchasers Balboa
1986 San Francisco Snowchasers Balboa
1985 San Francisco Sundancer Balboa
1984 Rusty Bindings No Award Balboa
1983 No Award Single No Award
1982 Wailers Single Après
1981 Wailers Single No Award
1980 Wailers Single No Award
1979 Wailers Single Après
1978 Wailers Westwood Après
1977 Wailers Single Après
1976 Wailers** Single** Hughes
1975 Wailers** Single**

1974 Wailers** Westwood

1973 Vand Bakke Westwood**

1972 Single** Westwood**

1971 Single** Westwood

1970 Single** Fresno**

1969 Wailers**

1968 Edelweiss

1967 Buddy's Angeles

1966 Buddy's Angels



1963 Grindelwald

** Won USSA Outstanding Club Award

Communications Awards...

Entries Due...

  • March 18, 2024

Criteria 2025...

Awards Announcement...

  • Sunday at Convention,
    June 15, 2025

Winners Get...

Winners are given a seal for placement on website and/or in publications. Winners also receive a certificate fit for framing.


Outstanding Club Seal

Submit Entry for the Tollakson Award


Bill King
VP Communication Awards Chair