Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAward: Recognition
Background Image URL //

Far West Recognition Programs...

Far West Recognition Awards are divided into the following categories.

  • Council's Volunteer of the Year.
  • Sponsored by Big White Ski Resort since 2001, each council can nominate a man or woman to represent to represent them at the Far West Convention.  Application due March 17, 2025.  more...

  • Richard Lubin Safety Person of the Year
  • This award recognizes an individual who has done the most to promote safe riding and the safety program.  This award was previously sponsored by Aspen/Snowmass until 2014 and Telluride until 2019 and Mammoth from 2020-2022.  more...   Application due March 17, 2025.

  • Western Ski Heritage Award
  • Sponsored by Steamboat Ski Resort since 2000, this award recognizes an individual who has made the best effort to collect, archive, preserve and share the contributions of snowsports to the community at large.  Application due March 17, 2025.  more...    

  • Environment Award
  • Sponsored by Aspen/Snowmass, Crestwood Condominiums and Timberline Condominiums, the Environment Award recognizes the individual who has made a significant contribution with new ideas and creative ways of protecting our environment and conserving our resources.   more...     Application due March 17, 2025.

  • Club & Council Communications Awards
  • Clubs and councils showcase their activities for the past year by submitting an essay, their publications, social media sites and their websites.
    more...    This program has been greatly simplified.  Application due March 17, 2025

  • Charity and Community Service
  • Far West is committed to enhancing the quality of life within our communities by supporting charitable giving and volunteerism. Clubs and councils who participate in charities in their regions and communities vie for prize money to be awarded to the winner’s charity of choice.
    more...  Application due March  17, 2025

  • Club & Council History Recognition Award
  • In 2008 Far West launched the Club and Council History Recognition to develop club, league and council histories. The objective of the annual program is to capture important information about skiing from the skier’s perspective and especially that of the club skier.
    more...   Application due March 17, 2025

  • Historic Ski Clubs, Councils, Ski Schools & Ski Patrols
  • Clubs with over 50 years of operation may be designated as a FWSA Historic Ski Club. The club must provide proof of operations with the request for this designation. Historic clubs are given a certificate and receive an electronic logo for placement on their website and other media.
    Application due March 17, 2025

John James, 2012, Western Ski Heritage Prize Winner.

Century City Ski Club, 2009, Charity Recognition.

Gene Fulkerson & Nancy Ellis, 2014 Council's Woman and Man of the Year

Fran Long, 2012 Safety Person of the Year.

John Watson, 2011, reviews History Recognition presentation.