Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAward: Jordan-Reily
Background Image URL //

Far West Jordan-Reily Award...

This award is named posthumously for two pioneers in the Association’s Public Affairs program, Bob Jordan and John Reily.

Bob Jordan, a Guadalcanal veteran, trained as a journalist and was employed for many years in the forest products industry. Bob became FWSA’s first paid Director of Public Affairs in 1975 and stayed on for nearly three years before returning to industry. His professional skills greatly enhanced the sophistication of the Association’s activities and formed a foundation that has lasted to this day.

In the mid-50s, John Reily, treasurer for the Carnation Company and chairman of the LA Chamber of Commerce, built a cabin in Squaw Valley.

Two years later, John acquired Southern Pacific’s land at the top of Squaw’s KT-22 lift and built a day lodge called the “Cornice.” From this vantage point, John saw the potential for a new ski area, Alpine Meadows, and became its founder and developer.

John was a strong advocate for integrating environmental, financial, and skier demand into area development plans.

The Jordan-Reily Award recognizes a one or two year activity and achievement in the Associations Public Affairs programs—area development, skier safety, liability protections, governmental affairs, taxation and transportation. This award may only be received once and is based on one or two year achievement (not long-term service). This award may also be given to an individual in government or the ski industry.

Year Awardee
Ron Abramovich
2022 Heidi Logosz, Mt Hood Meadows
No award
No award
2019 Kim StraversMammoth Lakes CA
2018 Amy Berry, Tahoe Fund
2017 Disabled Sports Eastern Sierra
2016 Jo Simpson, National Ski Council Federation
2015 Jeremy Jones,Protect Our Winters
2014 Kayla Walker, Bonneville Environment Foundation, Portland, OR
2013 Judy Dorsey, Brendle Group, CO
2012 Robert Redford,Sundance Ski Resort
2011 Christina Thomure,Grand Targhee Director of Substainablity
2010 John WentworthMammoth Lakes Trails and Public Access Foundation
2009 Auden SchendlerAspen Skiing Company Director of Substainablity
2008 Rich MarriottCo-founder Northwest Weather & Avalanche Center in Seattle, WA
2007 Geraldine LinkNSAA Public Affairs Director
2006 Scott KadenPresident PNSAA, Hood River, OR
2005 Mark UdallUS Sentor for Colorado
2004 Ethan ChickeringWestern Lost Ski Area Project
2003 Steve Coxen
2002 Denny BschorUSFS
2001 Steve Reneker
2000 Mike Sanford
1999 No award
1998 Catherine Ohl
1998 Linda McGavin
1997 Wayne Poulson
1996 No award
1995 Karen Kimball
1994 Lee Olson
1993 National Ski Patrol,
Southern California Region's Mountaineering Section:Dave Tollakson, Jerry Lambert, Steve Reneker, Ron Anderson
1992 Kermit Wagner
1991 John Watson

Eileen Sanford
Far West Service Awards Chair
858-761-6192 [c]

John McClintic Reily

Mike Sanford (2000)
Denny Bschor, USFS (2002)

Auden Schendler, Aspen (2009)

Ethan Chickering (2004)